LITTLE HELPER

Kahawa Series 2/3: LITTLE HELPER

_DSC3322

I have a pen knife and I’m not afraid to use it

Judgemental thoughts on how much of a heartless bitch I am fill up your mind

Why does a woman have to be submissive to a situation and of course to a man

_DSC3310_DSC3259

Ready for my errands, I head out to the bus stop but, the journey to that single destination is nerve racking

Have you met the fruit vendor, the lurking men in the streets and of course the conductor ready to slap you with piercing opinions on how your body looks like – I have a mirror

What makes you so special to think that you can touch my body, my hair or my clothes whenever you feel like?

I have a pen knife and I’m not afraid to use it

_DSC3268_DSC3288DSC_3250

Did I mention my boyfriend

The one that loves me when people are around and beats me up when we’re alone?

Or the father that raped me constantly as a child because I didn’t know what was happening?

Even that stab I’m willing to give him won’t heal the wounds that I’ve tried to cover up every single night

Fighting an internal war

I have a pen knife and I’m not afraid to use it

_DSC3218DSC_3257_DSC3253

Unfortunately, a woman will always be crucified for standing up for what is right

And if it means being locked up in order for me to gain freedom then she will never gain justice

And this is why I’ll never use my pen knife

Her sight will give me hope to a better day than the dark nights I’m used to

It’s only the saying that gives me protection and nothing more

I have a pen knife and I’m not afraid to use it

_DSC3258_DSC3230_DSC3225_DSC3221DSC_3249

 

ART DIRECTION & PHOTOGRAPHY: Magatimaosa

MUSE: Wildchild

Leave a Reply

