EMBRACE

Embrace: A tale of two sisters

IMG_20160702_033453

I am lost in a world that constantly begs me to despise my own kind

Though not from the same womb, we share a heritage, a set of emotions and walk on the same soil

A force that has to be reckoned with is that I should love my sister irregardless

Unfortunately, I have to be rational for my opinions to be recognized

More reason for most feminists to be ignored as they only want to be heard rather than be listened toΒ embrace2

IMG-20160616-WA0032embrace4My whole being would rather run from it’s physical self in order to break free from my own demon that constantly visits me at night

She knows how much I seek peace and resilience

She knows the depth of sisterhood

She knows that the guy I like will set us apart

She knows that the insecurities I have will distract me from being confident

My weight, my complexion, my physic, my big nose…

See! She reminds me of my meaningless worries thus I forget that my sister needs meIMG_20160702_034343embrace3embrace6

Instead, I see her as competition

She’s better than me

But I won’t let that happen

I’ve forgotten the essence of self worth and appreciation

Adorably stupid

embraceembrace79b753628a80a3b34f372f28cd7576c19

 

| Embrace: A tale of two sisters |

For aKoma as submitted by Amy Muhoro

CREATIVE AND ART DIRECTION: Amyvisuals

MUSE: Wildchild x Njeri

6 comments on “EMBRACE

  1. Such beautiful words that capture what goes on in today’s society. Competition has made a turn for the worst.
    As always your imagery and depiction of art through photos is insanely refreshing.
    I will stop talking like a scholar now,
    I love this post and images.
    Keep On. Keeping On
    www,soyoulikefashion,com

    Like

Leave a Reply

